How to learn on this blog

You are here because you want to learn astrology. On this blog, there is a large and growing number of posts on many topics in astrology, aimed at different levels of learning requiring varying amounts of background information. Where exactly to start your learning, and how to acquire a cohesive and meaningful repertoire of knowledge? This special post will show you how.


There are two essential tools you need to analyze horoscopes. One is the ephemeris, and the other is a horoscope charting program. This post tells you how and where to get them.

30 Jun 2021

The horoscope wheel is sliced into houses from 1 to 12. Each house represents a particular collection of psychological dynamics or areas of life, and planets that are in that house or rule that house will influence those areas. Interpreting the interplay between the planets based on presence of planets and their house rulerships can […]

Read More

25 Jun 2021

The midheaven or MC (Medium Coeli) is the highest overhead point at birth. As the earth rotates around its axis, this point changes throughout the day like the ascendant, and completes a full circuit of all 12 signs in 24 hours. Which means the MC (just like the ascendant) will only spend 2 hours in […]

Read More

22 Jun 2021

The ascendant is the sign that is rising on the eastern horizon at the time and place of birth – hence the ascendant is also called the rising sign. It is the fastest moving point in the horoscope. As the earth rotates on its axis, and completes one whole rotation in 24 hours, if you […]

Read More

17 Jun 2021

Western astrology uses a 360-degree wheel to represent the essentials of a horoscope. In my previous posts on aspects and elsewhere, I have used the wheel as a convenient medium to place planets in signs, using the 9 o’clock spot to start the zodiac at 0 degrees of Aries, then sweeping counter-clockwise through the wheel, […]

Read More

15 Jun 2021

The sextile aspect is a separation of 60 degrees between planets, within acceptable orb. The 60-degree separation puts planets in signs that are compatible, but not in the same element. There are two families of sextiles. One family is composed of pairs of planets where one planet is in fire, and the other is in […]

Read More

10 Jun 2021

The conjunction, opposition, and square aspects are called hard aspects. The reason is they all compel action. In the case of a conjunction, planets gang up in the same sign, aggregating a force that is simply not going to sit still. It is going to express itself. The only question is, how will the planets […]

Read More

Subscribe to alerts
for future blog posts